May 24, 2010

Stonewear’s Next Top Model

Posted in Climbing, Cycling, Exercise, Modeling, Office, Photo Shoot, Running, Uncategorized, Yoga tagged , , , , , , , , , at 1:04 pm by Stonewear Designs


When I was asked a few weeks ago if I wanted to model in the upcoming catalog for Stonewear Designs, I automatically answered yes without even thinking about what I was getting myself into. After getting the chance to let the agreement sink in, I started thinking about how I have never modeled before, how I don’t think I am very photogenic, and how my body is not at the ideal weight I want it to be…Then panic started to overcome me. However, the greatest part about being a Stonewear model is that we want “regular” people. Our catalog’s purpose is to show that we fit every body. Although I did feel pressure to eat well and not get tan lines, I thought it would be a cool  experience.

At first, it was a little weird getting used to the crew watching you pose and comment about what they like or don’t like. As a model, I had to keep in mind that the clothes were what we were trying to highlight and I was just the object in them. However, it was extremely nice getting pampered with hair and makeup as I found myself not having to make any decisions. I was put in the outfits the designer chose, I was told what positions to pose in, and I even had someone run over to me and fix my hair or pull a thread off of me. I think I could get used to this being queen for a day thing!

Because I am an employee for Stonewear, I got a behind the scenes look at what it was like to model and the logistics that went into the shoot. Being the bubbly happy person that I am, I knew that smiling for long amounts of time was not going to be too difficult but I was not expecting to test my multi-tasking abilities. A specific shot sticks out in my mind that seemed simple enough but to achieve the right shot was actually quite difficult. I had to hold a hose that they wanted me to spray so that we could get the glistening water in the photo. When I think about how the lighting, props, and poses all effect the shot, it made me aware of how much goes into each photo. Once we were satisfied with the composition, I had to put enough pressure on the hose so that it sprayed the perfect amount of water out while pointing it towards the photographer without spraying the equipment and starting a fire. Two hundred photos later and we were satisfied with some of the shots. If you don’t think this sounds hard, then think about holding that pose for 200 photos worth!

With this great opportunity, I wanted to see what the models did in their normal lives. Often I catch myself looking at a magazine or catalog and not realizing that the models are just like everyday people and that we sometimes put them on a pedestal because they are beautiful. In this catalog, we used four female models total, including me. Shannon, a model from earlier Stonewear catalog seasons, also runs a business called Camelflage. It is a women’s panty company designed to smooth out “Camel Toe” under clothes. Brilliant!! Erin styles hair at a salon in Greeley, CO when she is off camera, and Brooke works in the Nordstrom corporate office in Park Meadows. It was a pleasure to spend time and get to know these women since all were beautiful on the inside as well as the outside.

All in all, it was hard work, long hours, and great fun.

Ever thought about modeling?

-Dara Wong

Leave a Reply

